Hermann Kahlhöfer

Hermann Kahlhöfer

Dipl.-Phys., Patent attorney

After completing two years of military service with a special emphasis on telecommunication, Hermann Kahlhöfer, born in 1954, was accepted by Bonn University where, between 1974 and 1980, he studied astronomy and physics. At the same time he attended lectures on law at Bonn and Cologne University, which made him consider a career as a patent engineer, which he embarked on in 1980 when he joined the patent department of Interatom GmbH. In 1985 he started working as a patent engineer for Siemens AG and its subsidiary companies where he was, among other things, engaged in various fields of energy generation. In 1985 he qualified as a European Patent Attorney and in 1990 he acquired the license to work as a patent assessor. A stint in various US offices of Siemens and IP law firms during his traineeship rounded off his career in industry.

In 1992 he joined an internationally active patent and legal practice, which he later co-managed as a partner for some time. Finally in 2001, he was instrumental in setting up the firm as we know it today. Hermann Kahlhöfer covers the entire range of industrial property rights but his particular specialty is the coordination of worldwide patent prosecution procedures at patent offices as well as the development of protection right portfolios and their usage, in particular through cooperation measures and licensing agreements. Since 2013 Hermann Kahlhöfer supports KNH Patentanwälte as Senior IP Counsel.

Main focus

Advising and representing German and international clients in the field of protection of industrial property rights, in particular with regard to obtaining, defending and implementing technical property rights and to establishing a portfolio of property rights in Europe, the US and Asia as well as with regard to their use, in particular on the basis of cooperations and license agreements.

Technical focus

Exhaust treatment, catalytic converters and exhaust systems for combustion engines, textile machines; production and application of technical gases; power generation, turbines and generators, nuclear physics, nuclear power plants, machine building, alloys, plant supervision, control engineering, telecommunications, medical engineering.

Email: kahlhoefer@knh-patent.de | Mailform
Phone: +49 (0) 211 440375 0

Curriculum Vitae (pdf, 81.1 KByte)

vCard

← Team

Hermann Kahlhöfer

Hermann Kahlhöfer

Dipl.-Phys., Patentanwalt

Hermann Kahlhöfer, Jahrgang 1954, studierte (nach einer zweijährigen Militärzeit in einer Spezialeinheit mit Schwerpunkt für Telekommunikation) von 1974 bis 1980 an der Universität Bonn Astronomie und Physik. Parallel hörte er Jura-Vorlesungen an den Universitäten Bonn und Köln, die seinen beruflichen Weg hin zum Beruf des Patentingenieurs lenkten. Ab 1980 war Hermann Kahlhöfer in der Patentabteilung der Interatom GmbH und ab 1985 bei der Siemens AG und deren Tochtergesellschaften tätig. Seit 1985 hat er die Zulassung als European Patent Attorney und seit 1990 ist er Patentassessor. Ein Aufenthalt in den USA als Trainee in verschiedenen US-Büros des Siemens-Konzerns und von IP-Kanzleien rundete seinen Werdegang in der Industrie ab.

1992 schloss er sich als freier Patentanwalt der international tätigen Patent- und Rechtsanwaltskanzlei Bardehle et al. an, in die er später als Partner verantwortlich mit führte. Schließlich formte sich unter seiner Mitwirkung im Jahre 2001 die heutige Kanzlei KNH Patentanwälte. Hermann Kahlhöfer bearbeitet das gesamte Spektrum des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes, konzentriert sich dabei aber besonders auf die Koordination von weltweiten patentamtlichen Erteilungsverfahren sowie den Aufbau von Schutzrechtsportfolios und deren Nutzung, insbesondere auch durch Kooperationen und Lizenzverträge. Seit 2013 unterstützt Hermann Kahlhöfer die Kanzlei KNH Patentanwälte als Senior IP Counsel.

Schwerpunkte

Beratung und Vertretung deutscher und internationaler Mandanten auf dem Gebiet des Gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes, insbesondere bei der Erlangung, Verteidigung und Durchsetzung von technischen Schutzrechten und beim Aufbau von Schutzrechtsportfolios in Europa, USA und Asien sowie bei deren Nutzung, insbesondere durch Kooperationen und Lizenzverträge.

Technische Schwerpunkte

Abgasbehandlung, Katalytische Konverter und Abgasanlagen für Verbrennungskraftmaschinen, Textilmaschinen; Herstellung und Anwendung technischer Gase; Energieerzeugung, Turbinen und Generatoren, Nuklearphysik, Kernkraftanlagen, Maschinenbau, Legierungen, Anlagenüberwachung, Mess- und Regeltechnik, Telekommunikation, Medizintechnik.

Email: kahlhoefer@knh-patent.de | Mailformular
Telefon: +49 (0) 211 440375 0

Lebenslauf (pdf, 80.9 KByte)

vCard

← Team