Dietmar Haug

Dietmar Haug

Dipl.-Ing., LL.M., Patent Attorney

Dietmar Haug studied aeronautical engineering at Stuttgart University and graduated with an academic master’s degree in aeronautical engineering in 1973. After several years of training and work in a leading London patent law firm he continued his career in the field of industrial property rights in the patent and trademark department of a leading German commercial vehicle company. At the same time he completed the three-year training to become a patent attorney. Since his admission as German and European patent attorney in 1981 and until 2013 he had been a partner of an internationally oriented German patent law firm based in Munich where he mainly represented German, British and US companies in proceedings before the German Patent and Trademark Office, the Federal Patent Court (Bundespatentgericht), the Federal Court of Justice (Bundesgerichtshof ) and the European Patent Office, and where he also advised his clients on patent and trademark infringement proceedings before German and foreign courts. In addition to his career as a patent attorney he studied at Queen Mary College in London where he graduated with a "Certificate in Intellectual Property Law" in 2005. Futhermore, he studied at Fernuniversität Hagen, specializing in the protection of industrial property rights in Europe and was awarded the academic degree of a Master of Laws ( LL. M.) in 2009. Since 2015 he has been advising KNH Patentanwälte and its clients on specific questions within the field of international patent and trademark rights and in particular on questions regarding Anglo-American patent and trademark laws.

Main focus

Advising inventors, universities, small and large industrial companies from Germany and abroad, in particular from the UK, USA and Canada, in all fields that involve the protection of industrial property rights, in particular in obtaining, defending and enforcing patents as well as trademarks and designs. Preparing expert opinions on validity and infringement of industrial property rights. Participation in patent infringement lawsuits in courts in Germany and abroad. Negotiating and drafting patent and trademark license agreements.

Technical focus

Mechanical engineering, aeronautical engineering, jet engine engineering, automotive engineering, automotive clutch systems, rapid prototyping, medical engineering, electronic components, paper machines, concrete formwork systems, agricultural machinery, sports and leisure equipment, clothing technology, energy and environmental technology.

Email: haug@knh-patent.de | Mailform
Phone: +49 (0) 211 440375 0

Curriculum Vitae (pdf, 77.8 KByte)

vCard

← Team

Special expertise:


Major publications:

Added Matter: the standard for determining adequate support for amendments
GRUR Int 2016, 768
[link]

Inventorship of multinational inventions
GRUR Int 2015, 909-915
[link]

Dietmar Haug

Dietmar Haug

Dipl.-Ing., LL.M., Patentanwalt

Dietmar Haug widmete sich dem Studium der Luftfahrttechnik an der Universität Stuttgart und schloss es dort 1973 als Diplom-Ingenieur dieser Fachrichtung ab. Nach einer mehrjährigen Ausbildung und Tätigkeit im britischen Patent- und Markenrecht in einer renommierten Londoner Patentanwaltskanzlei wechselte er in die Patent- und Markenabteilung eines deutschen Großunternehmens der Nutzfahrzeugindustrie. Dort war er mehrere Jahre als Patentingenieur tätig, wobei er seine in England erworbenen Kenntnisse im Patent- und Markenrecht einbringen und erweitern konnte. Gleichzeitig absolvierte Dietmar Haug die dreijährige Ausbildung zum Patentassessor. 1981 wurde er als deutscher Patentanwalt und Vertreter vor dem Europäischen Patentamt zugelassen. Von 1981 bis 2013 war er Partner in einer von ihm mitgegründeten, international ausgerichteten Patentanwaltskanzlei in München und beriet und vertrat hauptsächlich deutsche, britische und nordamerikanische Unternehmen in Verfahren vor dem Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt, dem Bundespatentgericht, dem Bundesgerichtshof und dem Europäischen Patentamt. Darüber hinaus wirkte er für Unternehmen aus diesen Ländern in Patent- und Markenverletzungsverfahren vor in- und ausländischen Gerichten mit. Neben seiner Anwaltstätigkeit studierte er am Queen Mary College in London und graduierte 2005 mit dem Certificate in Intellectual Property Law. 2009 erwarb er im Fernstudium an der Fernuniversität Hagen den akademischen Grad des Master of Laws (LL.M.) im Europäischen Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz. Seit 2015 berät Dietmar Haug KNH Patentanwälte und deren Mandanten in speziellen Fragen des internationalen, insbesondere des anglo-amerikanischen Patent- und Markenrechts.

Schwerpunkte

Beratung von Erfindern, Universitäten und industriellen Klein- und Großunternehmen des In- und Auslandes, insbesondere aus UK, USA und Kanada, für den Erwerb von Patenten, Marken und Designs, deren Durchsetzung gegen Wettbewerber und deren Verteidigung gegen Angriffe Dritter. Erstellen von Gutachten in Fragen der Verletzung und des Rechtsbestandes von Patenten, Mitwirkung bei Patentverletzungsklagen vor Gerichten im In- und Ausland, Verhandlung und Ausarbeitung von Patent-und Markenlizenzverträgen.

Technische Schwerpunkte

Allgemeiner Maschinenbau, Luftfahrttechnik, Triebwerkstechnik, Fahrzeugtechnik, KFZ-Kupplungen, Rapid Prototyping, Medizintechnik, elektronische Bauelemente, Papiermaschinen, Betonschalungen, landwirtschaftliche Maschinen, Sport- und Freizeitgeräte, Textilmaschinen, Bekleidungstechnik, Energie- und Umwelttechnik.

Email: haug@knh-patent.de | Mailformular
Telefon: +49 (0) 211 440375 0

Lebenslauf (pdf, 77.8 KByte)

vCard

← Team

Besonders hervorzuhebende Kompetenzen:


Hervorzuhebende Publikationen:

Added Matter: the standard for determining adequate support for amendments
GRUR Int 2016, 768
[link]

Inventorship of multinational inventions
GRUR Int 2015, 909-915
[link]